Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

Will relationships be a thing of the past?

I am a 41 year-old attorney. I’m 6’4”, weigh about 240 lbs, I go to the gym regularly, my body fat % ranges between 23-26% according to my scale.

I have never had a relationship before. None of the girls I liked in high school were into me.

In my 20s, I lived in LA. I was hopelessly heartbroken over a straight best friend, but I never found anyone to take my mind off of him. I guess I also knew that until I made more money and/or got a better body, I was never going to be good enough for anybody I’d be really interested in.

I didn’t start hooking up with guys more until I was in my mid-thirties, but I’d always get bored quickly, I’d never do anal, I could never come from oral sex, and the guys weren’t interested in seeing me afterwards.

At this point, I have to ask myself — what do I want a relationship for? I know that reality is different from fantasy, but I kind of suppose if I had been interested in anything “real,” I would have found it by now. I guess I’m not interested in anything “real,” only surface and fantasy. But I shouldn’t have had to become a lawyer first before finding a relationship. Even if I found someone I’m really interested in that’s also interested in me, if it took becoming a lawyer first, how will I ever take such a relationship seriously if I was not good enough before becoming a lawyer?