Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

Sardines!

I have a friend that loves sardines. He recommends the kind from Portugal or Spain. I have never tried them before. Anyone here really like them? Any brands you recommend? What are some of your favorite recipes? Thanks!

Offsite Link
by Anonymousreply 30June 13, 2020 2:00 PM

I've never tried them before either. The only sardines I've ever seen are the tinned ones. Tinned fish, in general, is a huge turnoff for me. But I know people who eat (tinned) sardines and crackers with *blech* ketchup. Not sure what fresh sardines would do for me.

by Anonymousreply 1June 11, 2020 8:45 PM

Fresh sardines from the grill are wonderful. Not "fishy" at all. The trick is to find them as sometimes the supermarkets will sell some that aren't so fresh. If you're in Manhattan, Citarella on the upper west side carries them sometimes.

by Anonymousreply 2June 11, 2020 9:07 PM

I love all tinned sardines packed in olive oil. Not so keen on any fish in tomato sauce or mustard. The smaller the fish, the healthiest it is. Fresh ones are better, yet they're usually different genus... the term sardine often just implies it's a small fish.

by Anonymousreply 3June 11, 2020 10:20 PM

If you want to try them, Costco has canned Season’s sardines. They are boneless, skinless and packed in oil. They’re good on pizza, or with Italian food, like on top of spaghetti. Good for you too.