Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

Do you speak more than one language?

I've recently begun learning a second language (Japanese). I am trying to stay motivated. Share experiences any of you have learning another language

Offsite Link
by Anonymousreply 79June 19, 2019 3:40 AM

I studied German for four years in high school. I thought it would be a good idea since my mother's family were Russians who moved to Germany before coming to the U.S., and my grandmother spoke German. I ended up not using it, and forgot most of it (though I still know basic words and can understand certain phrases).

In college, I took six semesters of Spanish and became fairly proficient, at least in reading/writing comprehension and speaking ability. The most difficult thing is employing it in real life, especially with native speakers, as they tend to speak quickly and with rhythms that are unfamiliar unless you've spent a lot of time conversing in the language.